A Note of Thanks!

This week marks 5 years on the job as Grand Canyon Program Coordinator for Sierra Club’s Grand Canyon (Arizona) Chapter. I could not be more honored or humbled to serve in a position where I’m inspired by the likes of David Brower. The victories seem sometimes more difficult to accomplish these days, and the obstacles more numerous, but the reward is still the same. After 5 years, I have yet to see the clock reach 5pm without wishing I had more hours in the day to to do what I do. Not once have I thought, “I’m bored… what now?”

Thank you to everyone who’s helped me and encouraged me; to my predecessors, who set the pace; to our interns and AMAZING volunteers and colleagues and EVERYONE who stands up and speaks out for wild places, wild creatures, clean air, and flowing rivers. I have so much to learn from so many of you, and thank you for your patience as my experience grows. Keep getting out there, and keep showing up. Explore, Enjoy, and Protect the Planet!  — Alicyn Gitlin, Flagstaff, AZ

Alicyn at a rally for Mexican grey wolves, August 2015

Me at a rally for Mexican grey wolves, August, 2015.

About Protect Grand Canyon

Sierra Club's Restore and Protect the Greater Grand Canyon Ecoregion Campaign. Looking out for the 11,400 species that live in & love Grand Canyon!

Posted on August 17, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

